Jesmond Blessing

For two weeks I have been on Placement in Newcastle, specifically with Jesmond Methodist Church and the Holy Biscuit. Whilst participating in a 12 to 12 prayer event at JMC I created this image which is based on the Jesmond blessing (see below). This blessing is used by the Church to pray for their community.

Jesmond Blessings[1]

In the Name of Jesus,I/we bless our Community in Jesmond.

I/we speak out blessing, health, prosperity and fruitfulness into all the people who live here, either permanently or temporarily: residents, students, visitors, in houses, flats, retirement homes and hotels.

I/we bless the health of the people who live here that they may be strong and well. In Jesus’ Name, I/we resist any sickness or disease that seeks to invade this area and to every person I/we say, be well, be strong, be healthy. To any who are sick right now, I/we bless you in the Name of Jesus with a speedy recovery.

I/we bless the businesses and charitable organisations in our locality, and their staff and customers. I/we bless every wholesome enterprise that is conducted by them that it may prosper and be successful. These businesses include:

Shops Hotels
Cafés Banks
Pubs Post Office
Restaurants Pharmacists
Takeaways Swimming Pool
Metro Social Clubs

I/we bless the doctors, dentists and other health related practitioners in our community.  I/we bless their study and practice in the arts of healing and to the prevention of disease and pain.  I/we bless them in the Name of Jesus, that by their ministries the health of the community may be promoted and your creation glorified.

I/we bless the local schools that they may be secure, safe places for teachers and pupils alike. I/we bless the children’s capacity to learn and develop relationships. I/we bless their simple trust in Jesus, that their trust may grow and become enriched.

I/we speak to the Churches in Jesmond and I/we bless them in the Name of the Lord that the Holy Spirit and the Word of God may flow out from them in power.  I/we bless the hearts of all who live here that they may be quickened to hear and respond to the Voice of the Living God.


[1]  Based on the Friday Blessings, Ffald-y-Brenin Christian Retreat Centre.

Leave a Reply

