Welcoming the other

11/12/2011 Messy Church @ Sherburn-in-Elmet Methodist Church

This image was created whilst being at Messy Church. I was just doing my thing in the corner whilst Messy Church was going on all around me. I had no particular duties but was just enjoying the relaxed and fun atmosphere. I had preached in the morning at Kippax and the text (Isa 61:1-4, 8-11 & Jn 1:6-8, 19-28)  and content of my sermon were still very much in my mind as the kids and team at MC acted out the Christmas nativity.

The main thrust of my sermon was that the anointing of the Holy Spirit is now given to all who belong to Christ and it is the ‘God with us’ (Immanuel) that furnishes us with the Love of God which inevitable motivates and enables us to love our neighbour as ourselves, recognising Christ in those whom we love and serve.

In the image the ‘Christs’ welcome the not yet full formed Christ in the other. Their attitude and behaviour is full of the power to rebuild community. The light that is coming will displace the dark, its sign is already in the sky. Where there was death and decay will spring new life.

 

 

Leave a Reply

