Healer

healer - web

17/10/2013

Queens Foundation

Scripture: 2Kings 5:1-3, 7-11, Lk 17:11-19

An interesting sermon that highlighted the role of the servants in directing Naaman towards healing. The image began as a sense of praise, worship and thanksgiving of the healed lepers. But I as I listened I realised that the image didn’t do justice to the sermon, it seemed I picked up on only an aspect of the text. But as I considered Christ, the outcast on the cross and our healing by his wounds, I could see an interesting crossover between the healer and the healed. Christ immersed in the dirty waters of humanity, crucified, dead and buried, rises in resurrection as from a baptism into glory and those who go down with him into the waters are raised to life, healed and made whole. I’m still not sure if I did justice to the sermon but I like where my struggle took me.

 

Leave a Reply

